sky cool shades

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

No comments on The sunny side of the street

The sunny side of the street

On the sunny side of the street,
yellow-green glow the trees
to accent a recent dull grey row and its
AC’d walls that don’t rightly feel the sun,
or feed to fatten on its gold food

Slip me between the cars and over there
I can teach those heartless verticals
to love the sunny side of the street

The scattered bounty we miss most in winter
should be gobbled up thereafter, and me
primed you can watch glow without flame

Forget me in a corner on the narrow steps
like an old toy, slipper, paper bag, or
candy wrapper at home on a concrete rung

Peace I’ll find for a scattered mind when
Sunlight filtered between lanky boughs
tag the leaves of the young trees and
in the west village, fall warm and
dive through my skin to
tag one with wish to be happy, and
on the sunny side of the street.



This work is licensed under CC BY-NC 4.0

Powered by Wordpress

I